Getting Whipped into Shape: Brown Style

2 Jul

So I meant to post on Monday, but time kinda got away from me (that’ll happen here.  A lot.)  So I’d like to take this brief break I have to give you a rundown of my day:

9:00-9:50:  Movement!  And by movement I mean an exercise in sadism in the form of ballet.  The teacher of this class is an intense, highly focused women whose insanity is balanced by the fact that I love her.  The morning workout consists of dance, stretches and some stuff I don’t even have a label for.  I spend the majority of my time falling down (but it’s so worth it!)

10:30-1:00.  Acting! More scene study!  YAY!  Lately we’ve been working on “Art Exercises.”  This means:  you have a group, this group chooses a painting, the group devises a piece inspired by said painting, art is born.  Theoretically anyway.  My group (a lovely bunch of people.  I’ve literally never done a smoother group project) did a piece based on Salvador Dali’s Dream Caused by the Flight of a Bee Around a Pomegranate a Second Before Awakening.  You know, this one:

http://www.artquotes.net/masters/salvador-dali/flight-of-a-bumblebee.jpg

It ended up being a series of monologues in which various people recount their (often quite disturbing) dreams.  The performance went well, although there was one person who actually did fall asleep.

2:00-5:30 (sometimes 6).  Creative Ensemble!  Here’s the meat right here.  Creative Ensemble is an incredibly draining series of exercises meant to create ensemble and develop an original performance piece by the end of the summer.  The class is incredible, and pushes me in ways I didn’t think were possible.  I want to devote an entire post to this course, so look out for that in the future!

7:00-10:30  Rehearsal!  This is another part that deserves its own post.  That’s gonna come once hell week is over (we open on July 6th).  If you’re in Providence you should check out the show.  You can see me moving set pieces dressed like a hipster (more on that later.)  Here’s the link for tickets:

http://www.brown.edu/Facilities/Theatre/btprep/

But I have been learning a lot from rehearsals.  Even if I sometimes try too hard, mess up and then do this (internally):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6y53dFM6qko

That’s all for now.

Signing off,

Mike Trottier

P.S  I have two bathrooms in my apartment.  One is normal.  The other is apparently the bathroom where they filmed Saw.

Leave a Reply

